Bammy awards

The Bammy! Awards
    "It takes a village to raise a child." - African Proverb

    The Bammy Awards is a cross-discipline award that identifies and acknowledges excellence throughout the education field -- from teachers, principals and superintendents, to school nurses, support staff, advocates, researchers, early childhood specialists, education journalists and parents.  The Bammy Awards were created in response to the tremendous national pressure on educators and education leaders to improve student outcomes, and the intense scrutiny that today's educators face as a result.

    The Bammy Awards acknowledge that teachers can't do it alone and don't do it alone. The Awards aim to foster cross-discipline recognition of excellence in education, encourage collaboration and respect in and across the various domains, elevate education and education successes in the public eye, and raise the profile and voices of the many undervalued and unrecognized people who are making a difference in the field.

    The Bammys are presented by the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences International, which includes an eclectic cadre of leading educators, education leaders, education professors, journalists, editors, researchers, commentators, advocates, activists, visionaries and pioneers.  The Academy is comprised of a Board of Govenors, a Council of Peers and associate members.

    The Academy presents two honors in every category -- the Bammy Award and the Educator's Voice Award. Members of the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences International select the winners of the Bammy Awards. However, you, the online education community, determine the winners of the Educator's Voice Award by voting on the Bammy Awards web site for the nominated people, programs or organizations that you believe to be the best in each category.

    The People Behind the Bammy! Awards

    The Bammy Awards is organized by
    BAM Radio Network, which produces education programming for the nation's leading education associations. BAM Radio is the largest education radio network in the world with 21 channels of education programming available on demand and hosted by the nation's leading educators and advocates. On-air hosts include: 
    • Dr. Jerlean Daniel, executive director of the National Association for the Education of Young Children
    • JoAnn Bartoletti, executive director of the National Association of Secondary School Principals
    • Gail Connelly, executive director of the National Association of Elementary School Principals
    • Dan Domenech, executive director of the American Association of School Administrators
    • Yasmina Vinci, executive director of the National Head Start Association
    • Paul Young, president and CEO of the National Afterschool Association
    • John Musso, executive director of the Association of School Business Officials
    • Linda Smith , executive director of the National Association of Child Care Resource & Referral Agencies
    • Brian Crowe, executive director/CEO of the National Association of Child Care Professionals
    • Donna Mazyck, executive director of the National Association of School Nurses
    • Jodi Grant, executive director of the Afterschool Alliance
    • Linda Geigle, executive director of the National Association for Family Child Care
    • Dr. Eric Karolak, executive director of Early Childhood Education Consortium
    • Sherry Waugh, president of the National Coalition for Campus Children's Centers
    • Diane Whitehead, executive director of the Association for Childhood Education International
    • Glenda Bean, executive director of the Southern Early Childhood Association

    These education advocates are at the center of their respective communities and have their fingers on the pulse of what is going on moment by moment. Their programs are an invaluable resource for reporters, advocates, activists, legislators, analysts, parents, educators, administrators and anyone interested in transforming education.


    Insightful Commentary


    To bring a wider, richer, perspective to listeners, BAM Radio augments its team of expert hosts with a cadre of accomplished journalists who provide insightful commentary. BAM’s core of on-air commentators includes Jay Mathews, education columnist with the Washington Post; Debra Viadero, associate editor at Education Week; Lisa Guernsey, Director of New America's Early Education Initiative, former staff writer at the New York Times and contributor to Early Ed Watch; Liz Willen, formerly with Newsday and Bloomberg Markets magazine and currently with the Hechinger Institute; Valerie Strauss, education columnist with the Washington Post; and Ugo Uche of Psychology Today.

    Combined, this team of hosts and commentators provides a panoramic perspective and exceptional insight on the education issues of the day.


    BAM Radio has earned the respect and trust of the education community and is uniquely positioned to organize and host the Bammy Awards.